Old Huntington Firehouse was completed in 1912. The Huntington Fire Department, established 1843, was previously headquartered in a smaller firehouse built in 1869 on Wall Street. The firehouse on Wall Street, Huntington’s first, was demolished in 2014.

Located just beyond Old Town Hall Historic District, the Old Huntington Firehouse at 235 Main Street is one of the community’s great civic buildings. Unfortunately, the significance of the firehouse as an important site of civic heritage has never been officially recognized. Although Huntington’s Historic Preservation Commission nominated the firehouse as a new landmark in 2016, the Town Board declined to vote.

Officials are now considering whether or not to approve a plan to demolish the historic firehouse and redevelop the property.

Old Huntington Firehouse was proudly featured on early 20th century postcards. Its original brackets and cornice, clearly visible in the image above, still survive today. Other remaining original elements include a pressed and molded tin ceiling on the second floor, a tablet marked “Fire Dept.” on the front facade, and a tablet marked “1911” on the parapet.

Elsewhere on Long Island, inspired planning and creative design at historic Main Streets have not only saved old buildings, but effectively leveraged the irreplaceable character of historic structures to promote a powerful sense of place that attracts interest and grows investment in the surrounding community. Moreover, as environmental quality is on the minds of many Long Islanders, reuse of existing buildings is an excellent sustainable option for downtown revitalization. Simply put, historic structures like the Old Huntington Firehouse can play a vital role in successful Main Street redevelopment.

If it is possible to achieve the goals of redevelopment without the loss of yet another precious historic building in downtown Huntington, then why not explore an innovative design solution that invests in the unique value of Old Huntington Firehouse?  Is this great civic building and the history it represents worthy of demolition or recognition?

The original set of four pairs of swinging garage doors are well documented by this old postcard of the firehouse. Wonderful evidence for an exciting rehabilitation and restoration project

As firefighting equipment changed over time, so did firehouses. Overhead garage doors were installed to accommodate newer, larger fire engines at Old Huntington Firehouse. 

Since the 1960s, the firehouse has been reused for retail and arts space. The New Community Cinema, now Huntington’s beloved Cinema Arts Centre, began here on the second floor in 1973!

The proposal to demolish Old Huntington Firehouse will be discussed at the Town’s Planning Board meeting on Wednesday, August 9, at 7:00 pm. Residents may submit comments regarding the proposal to the Board at:

Planning Board, Town of Huntington
100 Main Street, Huntington, NY 11743
Phone: 631-351-3196
Fax: 631-351-3257
E-mail: planning@huntingtonny.gov

If you’d like to voice your support for the nomination of Old Huntington Firehouse as a Town landmark, Huntington residents should direct their comments to:

Huntington Historic Preservation Commission
228 Main Street, Huntington, NY 11743
Phone: (631) 351-3244
Fax: (631) 351-3245
Email: historian@huntingtonny.gov